Actors performing One Act Play

Burton ISD competed in the One Act Play Competition in Normangee on Tuesday, March 8, 2022.  The group of 13 students, actors and crew, performed The Actor’s Nightmare by Christopher Durang presented by Dramatists Play Services under the direction of Felicia Purvis. After a hugely successful performance for family and friends on Friday March 4th, BHS drama gave an even better performance at the UIL meet hosted by Normangee ISD.  Judges gave rave reviews and awarded Kody King Outstanding Actor for all participating schools in the role of George Splevin, and Brinn Rhodes All-Star Cast in the role of Sarah Siddons.  Kathryne Whitfield and Cannon Manley received Honorable Mention All-Star Cast for their roles as Meg and Henry Irving, respectively.  No play can go on without their crew.  Burton ISD’s Bailey Gober received Best Crew Award for his work with sound and audio. 

Madelyn Dixon, Peyton Franklin, Bailey Gober, Tanner Gore, Hunter Hancock, Kody King, Cannon Manley, Jaden Mertz, Raylan Parker, Trevor Renninger, Brinn Rhodes, Joseph Tavary, and Kathryne Whitfield will perform again at Bi-District Competition in Normangee on March 21, 2022.